Latest News:
IEBC Gazettes 1,443 Members of County Assemblies
The Independent Electoral and Boundaries Commission has gazetted all elected Members of County Assembly ahead of the official opening of the 3rd session of the County Assemblies. In the Gazette Notice dated 24th August 2022, IEBC Chairperson Wafula Chebukati listed the 1,443 duly elected Members of County Assembly. This is in addition to the two gazetted Members of County Assembly for Sabena Ward and Ravine Ward in Garissa and Baringo Counties respectively where declarations of no contest were issued on 1st July.  
Elections for 7 County Assembly Wards were postponed to August 23rd by the IEBC Chairman due to ballot papers mix-up, intimidation and harassment of the Commission's staff. The affected Wards include: Nyaki West in North Imenti Constituency (Meru County), Kyome/Thaama Ward in Mwingi West Constituency (Kitui County), Oloimasani Ward in Emurua Dikirr Constituency (Narok County), Mumias North Ward in Mumias West Constituency (Kakamega County), South Gem Ward in Gem Constituency (Siaya County), Utawala Ward in Embakasi East Constituency (Nairobi County) and Kwa Njenga Ward in Embakasi South Constituency (Nairobi County)
The IEBC is expected, within the next few weeks, to gazette the nominated Members of County Assembly. After this is completed, the newly sworn-in County Governors will issue notices in the Kenya Gazette on the date and venue for the opening of the first sitting of the County Assemblies. It is during this sitting that the Members of County Assemblies-elect will be sworn in and elect a Speaker for each of the 47 County Assemblies.
2022 Elected Members of County Assemblies
Declaration of No Contest in County Assembly Wards

One thought on “IEBC Gazettes 1,443 Members of County Assemblies

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to Top